On Appreciation of Farmers

It is late at night and have been away from home for a month. The first edible I need is mildly cold and clean water. The second thing I need is rice for dinner and I am terribly hungry, doubly because of my craving for rice.

It is September and I am travelling right now. Rain drops build up on my window and then rolls down with the force of the wind and the moving train. Outside it’s only green. The paddy will not be ready untill some time now. Empty lands are being sowed.I see a man and two and more half dipped inside water. Above it is raining. They have a turban around their heads made of what we call “gamcha”. They probably wore it to wipe sweat and water from their skin after finishing their sowing work but it was already raining.

In between the paddy fields, I see plenty of solar panels installed not sufficient though, than I can recount there was four years back. It’s a good sign. These farmers work day and night for reaping grains, feeding the country. I don’t know how to appreciate them apart from not wasting food. May be an additional post of appreciation.

Leave a comment