One such Modern Love

He kept lying on the ground keeping his head on my thighs and his sceptical dreamy eyes kept watching the chunks of cloud that sailed above us. He seemed lost; his mouth almost wide open in wonder. I wanted to know what he was thinking. The soil was moist from the rain last night. I didn’t move my feet because I didn’t want to disturb him. I struggled to open my shoes and rested my feet on the damp soil and grass. A small herd of sheep and goat passed by us. A little goat even tried to bump it’s head on to us in a playful gesture.

The place where he lay and I was sitting overlooked onto a river. The river bank is a bit higher than the river itself so we had to climb down to reach the river. The floor of the river was moss green making the water look green. The little river flowed silently; neither made any sound or any visible motion apart from when wind blew over it making patterns and ripples in it.

There were little purple and milky lavender coloured flowers at the side of the bank. As I watched the sunset; enjoying the tranquillity around me he rose up. He sat beside me and held my palms in his, as if mine were a delicate crystal glass. The wind blowing over the grassland made a rustle and far somewhere the crickets and frogs had already started making all those croaky noise.

His warm cheeks touched my cold face as he leaned on me in a kidish gesture. He put his left arm around my waist and his right hand kept holding my palms. He was close enough for me to smell his essence. We kept staring into the lush green till it was dark enough for nature to seize visibility.

Leave a comment